flailing away at the farm

I’d read about flails in history class and a character or two of mine in Dungeons and Dragons used them.  I’d even described some rookie swimmers as flailing about in the pool.

Last weekend, I finally got to try one for myself.

Tags:

3 Responses to “flailing away at the farm”

  1. Dan Says:

    Ha- don’t give up your day job Brian. I remember your interest in Jared Diamond and I’ve listened to this Jeremy Rifkin interview on CBC’s Ideas and thought you’d be interested too. Cheers, Dan

    http://www.cbc.ca/ideas/episodes/2010/11/17/the-empathic-civilization-1/

  2. surprisesaplenty Says:

    The flailing was fun and I can see why there is no mechanical alternative – It was only a few hours work per year and I don’t think there are that many Mongols or Japanese to fight off with military flails these days.

    I enjoyed listening to Rifkin. and may have put his book on order at Amazon. Did he write and speak about the “empathic civilization”?

  3. surprisesaplenty Says:

    Dam’ it! I read your comment yesterday and then only the first part before commenting. I guess he did speak about that as it is clearly in the link you sent me.

Leave a comment