Surprise! Now I live in Incheon

An internet friend who has blogged for a few years in Korea has moved back home and hung up his keyboard. He writes:

… I’ve felt less compulsion to blog, perhaps not just due to a lack of time, but also because I’ve become extremely familiar with this country that I now feel is truly my second home.

I’ve felt the same way.  In Gangwondo, I was one of only a few English language bloggers and felt I filled a needed niche.  Plus, the place was weird.   Now I am comfortable in Korea and I moved to a giant city with many bloggers.  I don’t know but I guess I posted five or ten things since I moved to Busan six years ago.

Some of those posts were good.  I am proud of my discussion of libel in Korea.  But I just didn’t feel the urge to blog here.

I deliberately unlocked my blog from a location.  My previous blog was titled ‘Gangwon Notes’ and once I left it, I felt strange in adding to it. Surprisesaplenty is supposed to be open.  Maybe it is too open.  For reasons hard to explain my creativitiproject blog has been going well. Open in location but focused on subject matter seems to be the way to go.

My wife was recently transferred to Incheon and I have moved there to join her. My life is currently very befitting the title of this blog as my life is in a state of flux. What will I do next? Teach?  Take the plunge and write full time?  Organize my blogs so they fit together?

I’m not giving up on this blog but I don’t know where my adventures will lead.

One Response to “Surprise! Now I live in Incheon”

  1. Kevin Kim (@bighominid) Says:

    Good luck in your new environs! Interesting adventures await.

Leave a Reply

