The power of off-hand comments

Never read the comments section.  Never read the comments sect…..

Ah, no.  Not that kind of comment.

About twenty-five years ago, as captain of my university’s swim team, I added a few jokes to my talk to my teammates before our provincial championships.  In addition to sound advice like getting enough sleep and the proper food, I suggested they needed to be more on edge, more antsy, more alert and so for the next few days before the swim meet, no sex.

Two days later, a member of the women’s swim team complained about this, about being shut down with her boyfriend blaming me.

About ten years ago, I made an ESL game that worked pretty well for students at my university.  A coworker who used the game complimented me with, “You’re so creative.”  For the last ten years, I have been researching creativity and productivity.

Four years ago, I went to Chuck Sandy’s talks at the International KOTESOL Conference, mostly liked them but felt that the process of condensing years of work into a forty-five minute bundle made it “a lot of feathers and not much chicken“.  In a recent Twitter conversation, I learned that Sandy has that quote on his desk.

What will he say when he learns the quote is from Kim Mitchell?

Tags:

Leave a Reply

