Provincial Park Image of the Day: Waubaushene Beaches

Strangely, I have no photos for this park which I have apparently passed dozens of times.  I could find none online.  Having lived near the park for ten years, my mother had never heard of it either.  I think it sounds like an interesting place to visit -not today, but when it is not raining -and I really have no reason not to.  One fascinating site is either in or next to the park boundaries, the segregated cemeteries of Coldwater, Ontario.  Side-by-side, on Highway 12, are a Catholic and a Protestant Cemetery.  I have walked through them and onto a trail behind them so maybe I have been on the park grounds.waubaushene beaches waubaushene cemetery

 

Both images are from Google Maps.

Ontario Parks

Simcoe Community Reach

MNR Management statement from 1994 (PDF)

Trails and Tamaracks

Wayne Cook’s nearly exhaustive list of cemetery headstone images.

 

 

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

