Prov Park Image of the day: Rondeau

From National Geographic comes this image of two birds fighting at Rondeau Provincial Park.  That red thing between the two birds?  The woodpecker’s (on the right) tongue!

009-bird-rondeau-park-sw

I visited Rondeau in 1996 with members and family of a swim team I coached.  This was a social occasion so I didn’t look around much.  However, the rollerblading on the paved roads was excellent.  Regarding deer, I think the best term for their numbers is ‘infestation’.  They’re everywhere.

Ontario Parks page

Friends Of page.

Added later:

I have been away for many summers so although I had heard of the algal blooms in Lake Erie, I didn’t know how bad they were or their extent.  The image with this text shows Rondeau on the upper right.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

