Skiing Awenda in the Winter (Provincial Park Photo(s) of the day)

I keep saying Awenda is little known, but perhaps I have merely been there on quiet days. The Friends of Awenda page  seems well done.

I had a great ski there with my mother on Friday and want to go back.  I’m lucky to have gotten this day in so I doubt I’ll make it next week.

One problem with skiing there is there are only two ‘official’ trails, a short, easy 4 km or a long 13 km.  I’ve managed 10 km in a day, more or less, but didn’t feel up to 13.  So we followed a ski trail to the beach.  It was around 5 km as a 2.5 km in and out on the same trail -no loop.  The map showed the beach route, but I think it was only as part of the regular map, only the two trails above were explicitly described.

The skiing scratched an itch I didn’t know I had.  The silence was total and I felt like a church-farter when I yelled a comment to my mother.

among the giants

among the giants

 

 

 

 
winter awenda (10) resized

 

I think this is Christian Island.winter awenda (14) resized

 

The pictures above and below show how cold it can be.  You can see that the waves froze in mid-surge.winter awenda frozen wave blog ready

 

On the way to the park, we saw a fox run across the road.  The first I have seen in Ontario.  Midland Naturalists reported in February seeing 22 deer at one time in the park but we saw none.  There many tracks of many different animals but none actually seen.

I have decided to add a mark to the bottom of my pictures.  I have never previously worried about copyright or intellectual property theft (the benefit of being a poor photographer, I guess) and the writing is low enough to be cropped out if someone wanted to.  I welcome the idea of others using my pictures but want to keep some kind of identifying mark on them.  Suggestions? Ideas? Should I have the full url for my blog?

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Skiing Awenda in the Winter (Provincial Park Photo(s) of the day)”

  1. Murray Conron Says:

    I like your enthusiasm for this area. That island is Giant’s Tomb. The raised snow and ice ridges at the shoreline are known as windrows.

  2. surprisesaplenty Says:

    Thank you. The wikipedia article on Giant’s Tomb needs a lot of work, but it sounds like an interesting place to visit.

Leave a Reply

