Spoonbills in Eulsookdo

The big flat building in the background is wildlife information centre describing the local wetlands on Eulsook Island.

The closer birds are a few varieties of ducks.  In the background are herons and spoonbills.  I had never seen spoonbills before and was thrilled to do so.  The birds are a little unclear and I tried to shoot a picture through a set of stabilized binoculars.  To my great surprise, it worked!

There are walking paths on the island and a flock of swans live along the southernmost edge – nearest the ocean.

The island also has a great deal to offer kids.  There are rental kiosks that offer bikes, motorized cars and more.  My little guy had a good visit as well.

2 Responses to “Spoonbills in Eulsookdo”

  1. Kevin Kim Says:

    I’m always amazed by people who know their plants and birds. Despite an initial love of biology when I was a kid, I never learned any of those names.

    Nice pics!

  2. surprisesaplenty Says:

    I hardly know plants at all. As I’ve come to learn, I really only know the ‘cool’ birds: the big or strange ones. You can’t see it in these photos, but the ‘spoon’ of the bill is quite obvious when the bill is silhouetted, so it is relatively easy to recognize.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

