Not just in Korea

Misspellings of English words in professional documents and signs are common here.  But, they do occur elsewhere; the photo below is meant to teach us (okay, me) some humility.

'lightening'?  Really?  Is it getting lighter?

I should say that the first two books of Larsson’s trilogy are fantastic.  I’ll be buying “The girl who kicked the Hornet’s Nest” soon.

I recall a Simpsons episode where the swishy male hair stylists were spending a lot of money on “Loafer Lightener”.  Maybe that’s what Larsson has bottled.

Oh, I cannot find this error online anywhere (A screen capture from a google search):

Tags:

3 Responses to “Not just in Korea”

  1. John from Daejeon Says:

    A couple of months ago I saw the first movie and was so impressed that I had to track down and watch the next two. I wish I would have called it quits after the first one.

  2. surprisesaplenty Says:

    I don’t know about the movies, but I have heard the third book isn’t as good. Larsson died soon after completing it so it didn’t have the same quality of editing – or so I’ve heard.

  3. gordsellar Says:

    I have found that sometimes foreign books (and other products) with typos sometimes seem to end up on the foreign market — ie. you’ll see the copies with typos dumped into the English-bookstore-abroad distribution stock, I think. Sometimes the typos are missing the copies released back home.

    (As an example of “other products”: earlier this year I bought an imported six pack of Czech beer and one side of the cardboard carrier had “text, slepy text, slepy text, slepy text, slepy text,” repeated all over it. The same way some people use “lorem ipsum” as filler on a blog when they’re designing the layout but have no content.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

